Iceland Volcanism and Water 2010

Where do I go?

In the middle of May 2010, it is that time again: eight years after my first and so far only journey to Iceland I am back to Iceland again. Also the eruption of the volcano under the Eyjafjallajökull cannot stop me. My plane takes advantage of a gap in the ash cloud. During my three and a half weeks in Iceland, I am in the southwest of the island for a few days, followed by two weeks in the relatively isolated Westfjords, and finally for one week around the lake Mývatn.
This is a choice of my great number of photos, sorted in these four pictures galleries or in the text below:

From the Southwest with Geyser and Volcano
my 21 pictures in the Picture gallery 1 ->
Picture gallery 1 - Southwest Iceland with Geyser and Volcano 2010
From the Westfjords with hot springs
my 29 pictures in the Picture gallery 2 ->
Picture gallery 2 - Westfjords with hot springs 2010
Of Mývatn with lava, craters and caves
my 25 pictures in the Picture gallery 3 ->
Picture gallery 3 - Mývatn with lava, craters and caves 2010
With Waterfalls in the Mývatn area
my 26 pictures in the Picture gallery 4 ->
Picture gallery 4 - Waterfalls in the Mývatn area 2010
Iceland in the Atlantic

After three and a half hours flight, I reach Keflavík in a slightly cloudy weather and a little later Iceland's capital Reykjavík by bus. There I feel right back home, I lived here in 2002 for four months.

On a scheduled half-day tour on the so-called Golden Circle we pass the volcano crater Kerið on our way to the Golden Waterfall Gullfoss which falls into two mutually perpendicular levels at 11 meters and 21 meters into a ravine. In Haukadalur there is also a thermal field including the blue thermal spring Blesi.

Hallgrímskirkja the Smoke Bay (Reykjavík) volcano crater Kerið Gullfoss with two steps Gullfoss hydropower blue thermal spring Blesi
Hallgrímskirkja Smoke Bay Kerið Gullfoss hydropower Blesi

The most famous natural wonder in Haukadalur is the Geyser (which gave all the other geysers in the world this name). The Great Geyser is only active very irregularly. But the neighboring Strokkur with its 20-30 m high fountain of water every few minutes. A perfect interplay of volcanism and water. Here you can see the developement of an eruption:

waiting for the photo motif water bubble before eruption water column Strokkur boiling hot water
waiting water bubble Strokkur boiling hot

In the evening I will not miss a tour to the Eyjafjallajökull. A few words about geography: the Eyjafjallajökull (in English: island mountains glacier) is a glacier quite near to the south coast of Iceland. Under the Glacier a volcanic massif is situated with the same name. From the middle of April to Pentecost 2010 a lot of ash and water vapor emits up to 9000 m high. The highest point of the glacier is at 1666 m.

First it is very exciting because it is not known whether clouds could hide the glacier and volcano ash. But then the weather looks good and a huge cloud of gray ash passes silently to the south on to the Atlantic. Even if the ash wall looks very colorful from the outside than from within, we go into the middle of the darkness. Despite sunshine, it suddenly becomes black as the deepest night, but without stars. A frightening impression. Back in the daylight the sun's last rays are coloring the ash in a bright orange shade.

On the way back our minibus stops at the 66 m deep plunging Seljalandsfoss at sunset time. Formerly the Atlantic coastline was at this place. Today I am going once around the entire waterfall.

in Hvolsvöllur Vestmannaeyjar (Westman Islands) on the horizon at the Eyjafjallajökull ride into the ash cloud night in broad daylight the volcano spews
Hvolsvöllur Vestmannaeyjar Eyjafjallajökull into the cloud night at day volcano cloud
Million cubic meters of ash volcano eruption very close Seljalandsfoss in the evening behind the waterfall
much ash volcano eruption Seljalandsfoss behind waterfall

After the first days in Reykjavík, on the the Golden Circle and at the Eyjafjallajökull now I go to the Westfjords which is a new unknown area for me. First we pass the Grábrók crater, later we see the wide fjord Breiðafjörður again and again. Finally after going through some snowfields we reach the waterfall Dynjandi. Five smaller waterfalls lead you to the foot of the 100 m high and wide fanned Dynjandi (also Fjallfoss). This is a very special perspective from below on the waterfall cascades.

on the crater rim of the Grábrók along the Breiðafjörður Dynjandi broadly fanned waterfall cascades from below snow field in the mountainous Westfjords
Grábrók crater Breiðafjörður Dynjandi from below snow field
Overview Map Iceland

The Westfjords (Vestfirðir) are a very rugged and mountainous peninsula in northwest of Iceland. The region is relatively isolated (in the winter time many of the gravel roads are closed) and with 0.8 inhabitants per km² very sparsely populated. If you want to compare: in Great Britain there are 255 inhabitants per km², in the most sparsely populated country in the world (Mongolia) 1.9 inh. per km². Only recently there is a continuous paved road from the capital Reykjavík to the main city Ísafjörður. Because of the particularly untouched landscapes tourism is gradually increasing in the Westfjords. The ride from Reykjavík in one of the middle Fjords (Dýrafjörður) takes us with some stops about ten hours.

After two nights in Núpur in the Dýrafjörður the journey continues to the southeast of the Westfjords to Hótel Laugarhóll.

near Núpur in the middle of May on the Muyarfell snow covered Westjords Dýrafjörður shortly before midnight Hótel Laugarhóll with hot spring
Núpur Muyarfell snow peaks Dýrafjörður Laugarhóll

For two weeks I am a happy part of an international volunteer work camp at the Hótel Laugarhóll in the Bjarnarfjörður (Bear Fjord). We remodel the outdoor areas - particularly the hot spring and the warm brook. Lodging and meals are for free. We cook for ourself. Prior the work camp you already pay the costs of travel and an administrative fee. So the camp makes you not richer of money, but in experience, language practice, the horizon and in becoming acquainted of the Icelandic everyday life.

At the Hótel Laugarhóll you find the hot spring Gvendarlaug, in which people of the Saga time had a bath. Today the water is too hot in there. So better go into the rugged thermal spring or in the natural warm swimming pool. And because it is so pleasant, I am relaxing every evening for two or three hours in the warm water. Sometimes also until midnight because it is not getting dark at night in May. Like in paradise!

rocky natural hot spring with 42°C warm brook during the redesign work water 42°C, air sometimes only 0°C thermal spring in the wilderness outdoor pool 32°C relaxing after work
hot spring warm brook natural hot thermal spring outdoor pool hot pool

During the leisure time or weekends we hike through the harsh environment. There is a river falling in a crevice and washing it deeper and deeper. Further north on the east coast of the Westfjords we go to Krossnes which is the next warm pool - in the middle of nowhere, but right on the coast line of the Atlantic Ocean.

river digs through the rock gorge at the Bjarnarfjörður waterfall into the valley Krossneslaug at the Atlantic 500 m high mountains at Kaldbaksvík
narrow gorge Bjarnarfjörður waterfall Krossneslaug Kaldbaksvík

But what makes so much fun for a physically demanding work camp in your own holiday? For example collecting driftwood under the open sky with fresh air on the Atlantic coast. Driftwood which has entered the Arctic Ocean in Siberia some decades ago. Iceland has nearly no forests. However you find many wooden houses.

After the wonderful time with the great volunteers and locals I say goodbye for going to the airport in Ísafjörður. Because of the many branches which a part of the Ísafjarðardjúp it takes us 100 minutes in the car for only 25 km air-line distance. The night before my flight I sleep in Súðavík. Also I am walking up the valley Sauradalur to the snow line. Finally I recommend you a visit to the Arctic Fox Center (in Icelandic Melrakkasetur) in Súðavík.

it is time for work driftwood from Siberia Ísafjarðardjúp snow at the end of Sauradalur debris avalanches in the mountains Súðavík and Drangajökull on the horizon
workcamp driftwood Ísafjarðardjúp Sauradalur debris avalanche Súðavík

From Ísafjörður (due to its location between the mountains it is said to be one of the most dangerous airports in the world) I fly via Reykjavík to Akureyri in the north of the island. Then I drive by car to the 12 m deep and 30 m wide Goðafoss (Gods waterfall) and later to the lake Mývatn (midges lake) which is in average just over 2 meters deep.

airport of Ísafjörður wide overflow edge of Goðafoss shapes of lava rock Mývatn - the lake of midges pseudokrater in Mývatn
Ísafjörður Goðafoss lava rock lake of midges pseudokrater

Lake Mývatn is well known for the great diversity of lava formations, such as the tufa formations of Dimmuborgir. They were formed 2000 years ago when lava flowed over a swampy area and parts of the evaporating water could freeze the lava, while others still boiling lava flowed away.

The volcanic activity around the lake is still going on. The last eruptions of the central volcano system Krafla were until 1984. It were not the last eruptions. On the volcano Mount Námafjall I feel the warmth of the earth under my feet.

Dimmuborgir entrance gate Kirkja (church build of lava) dark city tuff formations shining sheeps at the lake eight years earlier a bathing lake view from the active volcano Námafjall
Dimmuborgir Kirkja lava dark city shining sheeps too hot Námafjall
Sights at the Mývatn

Volcanism means also hot water. The former swimming grotto Grjótagjá is an impressive proof of this. Due to the rise in temperatures (50°C) the spring is described in many guidebooks as no longer suitable for bathing. In summer 2010 the water in the southern part of the cave is already good for a short bath. So also in the evening when it is drizzling a little time. The crevice is visible along the cave which separates the Eurasian continental plate by the American one. Swimming between the continents.

cave entrance to Grjótagjá natural phenomenon Grjótagjá warm bathing grotto foggy thermal spring
cave entrance Grjótagjá bathing grotto thermal spring

The crater Víti originated during an outbreak in 1724. Today there is a maar inside which has its turquoise color of silica algae. Later in 1984 the Krafla volcanic system has again been very active. New black lava contrasts the usually yellow-colored surface of the volcano Leirhnjúkur. The lava fields are still hot and steaming in 2010.

The gray Hverfjall explosion crater (or Hverfell) on the eastern shore of lake Mývatn is a large tuff ring. It was formed 2500 years ago when magma met groundwater for a massive steam explosion. Hverfjall belongs also to the Krafla volcano system.

Víti from 1724 black Lava of the crater Hófur from 1984 explosion crater Hverfjall tuff ring from magma water vapor explosion
Víti Krafla Hverfjall tuff ring

Before my trip to Iceland I read something about a lava ice cave called Lofthellir. It was just discovered in 1984 by an aircraft in the large Laxádalslava. This relatively unknown cave I like to visit now. On a cloudy day I borrow a bicycle and ride on lava tracks further and further away from the civilization. Hoping all the time that it does not rain, that the rickety rental bike will survive and that I also will find the cave in this huge lava field. I have no detailed map and know only approximate location descriptions.

When I reach after two hours of cycling the lava field, the trail ends. Now the real adventure will begin. I am walking and looking at the mile-wide area for the cave entrance. Everything looks the same. After one hour I want to go back to my bike. But then I stumble completely random upon a hole in the earth. Thank you! I climb down a ladder to the ground floor. Then I crawl through a very narrow gap into the total darkness and silence. I only hear my blood when it is pumped through my ears. It is incredibly, almost unbelievably here downstairs. After 45 minutes I am back out there. What an experience!

looking for the cave by bike entrance to the cave narrow gap icicles because of permafrost frozen flooding colourful lava colors and crystals
by bike entrance narrow gap icicles flooding lava colors

One week at lake Mývatn is not enough. I am going to the northeast direction into the mighty valley Jökulsárgljúfur. Here the river Jökulsá á Fjöllum plunges down the Dettifoss. (More details later.) I ride on seemingly endless gravel roads farther and farther north and on the other side of the valley back to the south again. In the Vesturdalen I see the Hljóðaklettar (Echo Rocks) such as Karl and Kerling or Kirkjan (church): many hexagonal basalt rocks.

Dettifoss and spray wild landscape lava formation Kirkjan Hljóðaklettar Karl and Kerling unpopulated gravel roads shield volcano Herðubreið
Dettifoss wild landscape lava formation Hljóðaklettar empty roads Herðubreið

Other possibilities in the region: I climb the 771 m high Hlíðarfjall in the morning, write something in the summit book and enjoy the view on the approximately 500 m deeper lying lake and all the craters and lava fields in the vicinity. In the evening I go to the Mývatn Nature Baths, a small Blue Lagoon.

Hlíðarfjall looking towards southwest Hlíðarfjall south to Hverfjall Mývatn Nature Baths
Hlíðarfjall Vulkanisches Nature Baths

The river Jökulsá á Fjöllum flows in the surreal seeming basalt valley Jökulsárgljúfur over three consecutive stages toward the Arctic Ocean. First the water falls on Selfoss 10 m in depth. The waterfall edge is moving further and further upstream. After one kilometer you see and feel the most water-rich (highest energy) waterfall in Europe. The Dettifoss has a width of 100 m, a case depth of 45 m and an average flow of 193 m³/s. Much noise and spray is guaranteed. After two kilometers the water flows into the third waterfall, the Hafragilsfoss with a depth of 27 m.

Selfoss first of three waterfalls 10 m deep falling Selfoss 100 m wide Dettifoss Dettifoss plunges 45 m deep most powerful waterfall in Europe Hafragilsfoss 27 m depth
Selfoss 10 m depth Dettifoss 45 m depth powerful Hafragilsfoss

East of the Mývatn the high temperature area Hverarönd is situated at the base of the active volcano Námafjall. About 200°C at 1000 m depth is activating various steam and mud pools at the surface of the earth. Solfataras are shooting sulfurous steam, fumaroles mostly only water steam, while mud pots are connected with ground water and are bubbling all the time. A variety of natural phenomena.

view from Námafjall on Hverarönd high temperatures in the ground hot mud pools sluphurous decomposes the rock bubbling and hissing
Hverarönd temperature mud pool sluphurous bubbling

After three and a half weeks the journey is almost over. I pass the Goðafoss again. And I decide to have a half-day excursion into the highlands to the northern end of the Sprengisandur track. There I marvel at - in my opinion - the most beautiful waterfall in Iceland: the Aldeyjarfoss. The river Skjálfandafljót flows over the black basalt columns white in front of a blue sky churned in the 20 m depth. I am lying in front of the fall and feel the deep bass of hydropower. Later I spend the evening before my night flight for a few hours in the Blue Lagoon - enjoy one last time thermal heat.

Iceland 2010 was a perfect trip. Besides the people, landscapes and natural phenomena, the weather was unique. According to the weather office May 2010 was relatively warm and dry, even June was exceptionally warm and dry. Many new weather records have been set up. Around the Mývatn was nearly no rainfall in June, instead the number of sunshine hours was as high as never before. Very Lucky!

If you want you can correct my English because it is not my native language.
Just send me an e-mail: webmaster@nordpaul.de

again to the Goðafoss Aldeyjarfoss 20 m depth black basalt blue sky white foam Blue Lagoon before my return flight
Goðafoss Aldeyjarfoss black blue white Blue Lagoon

» Links

... my first travel to Iceland   2002

... more Atlantic countries: Faroe Islands   1998   2x Spitsbergen   2008    2010   and Scotland   2004
 

Final updated version: 2011/06/21
© nordpaul.de - Pictures of Northern Europe
- nordpaul.de - North Europe - Site Terms - [english] -

Iceland volcano Eyjafjallajökull Westfjords Mývatn Geyser hot spring lava crater waterfall Haukadalur Gullfoss Golden Circle Reykjavík Strokkur volcanic eruption Seljalandsfoss Dynjandi Laugarhóll Muyarfell Dýrafjörður Bjarnarfjörður swimmingpool workcamp Krossneslaug drift wood Súðavík Arctic Fox Center Goðafoss Dimmuborgir Námafjall tuff Krafla Grjótagjá Víti Hverfjall Leirhnjúkur Lofthellir ice cave Jökulsárgljúfur Dettifoss Hljóðaklettar basalt Hlíðarfjall Selfoss Hafragilsfoss Hverarönd mud pot Aldeyjarfoss

external  HTML! CSS!

Island Vulkanismus und Wasser 2010

Wohin geht es?

Mitte Mai 2010 ist es wieder soweit: acht Jahre nach meiner ersten und bislang auch einzigen Reise nach Island werde ich nun wieder einige Zeit auf der Insel verleben. Daran ändert auch der Ausbruch des Vulkans unter dem Eyjafjallajökull nichts. Mein Flugzeug findet eine Aschelücke. In meinen dreieinhalb Wochen auf Island bin ich ein paar Tage im Südwesten der Insel, danach zwei Wochen in den Westfjorden und zum Schluss eine Woche um den Mývatn unterwegs.
Es folgt eine kleine Auswahl meiner vielen Fotos in vier Bildergalerien bzw. im Text weiter unten:

Aus dem Südwesten mit Geysir und Vulkan
alle 21 Bilder in der Bildergalerie 1 ->
Bildergalerie 1 - Südwesten mit Geysir und Vulkan 2010
Aus den Westfjorden mit heißen Quellen
alle 29 Bilder in der Bildergalerie 2 ->
Bildergalerie 2 - Westfjorde mit heißen Quellen 2010
Vom Mývatn mit Lava, Kratern und Höhlen
alle 25 Bilder in der Bildergalerie 3 ->
Bildergalerie 3 - Mývatn mit Lava, Kratern und Höhlen 2010
Mit Wasserfällen in der Mývatn-Umgebung
alle 26 Bilder in der Bildergalerie 4 ->
Bildergalerie 4 - Wasserfälle in der Mývatn-Umgebung 2010
Island im Atlantik

Nach dreieinhalb Stunden Flug erreiche ich bei leicht bewölktem Wetter Keflavík und wenig später per Bus Islands Hauptstadt Reykjavík. Dort fühle ich mich gleich wieder heimisch, habe ich doch hier 2002 für vier Monate gelebt.

Eine Halbtagestour auf dem sogenannten Golden Circle führt mich mit dem Bus vorbei am Vulkankrater Kerið zum Goldenen Wasserfall Gullfoss. Dieser ergießt sich in zwei rechtwinklig zueinander stehenden Stufen à 11 m und 21 m in eine Schlucht. Ebenfalls im Haukadalur befindet sich ein Thermalfeld, u.a. mit der blauen Thermalquelle Blesi.

Hallgrímskirkja die Rauchbucht (Reykjavík) Vulkankrater Kerið Gullfoss in zwei Stufen Wasserkraft des Gullfoss blaue Thermalquelle Blesi
Hallgrímskirkja Rauchbucht Kerið Gullfoss Wasserkraft Blesi

Das berühmteste Naturschauspiel im Haukadalur ist jedoch der Geysir (der auch allen anderen Springquellen auf der Welt seinen Namen gibt). Der Große Geysir ist jedoch nur noch sehr unregelmäßig aktiv; der benachbarte Strokkur dagegen mit seiner 20-30 m hohen Wasserfontäne alle paar Minuten. Das perfekte Zusammenspiel von Vulkanismus und Wasser. Und so entwickelt sich eine Eruption:

Warten auf das Fotomotiv Wasserblase vor der Eruption Strokkurs Wassersäule kochend heißes Wasser
Warten Blase Strokkur kochend heiß

Eine abendliche Fahrt zum Eyjafjallajökull lasse ich mir als vorher nicht geplantes Highlight natürlich nicht entgehen. Ein paar Worte zur Geografie: der Eyjafjallajökull (auf deutsch: Inselberge-Gletscher) ist ein Gletscher an der Südküste Islands. Unter dem Gletscher befindet sich das gleichnamige Vulkanmassiv, das von Mitte April bis Pfingsten 2010 viel Asche und Wasserdampf bis zu 9000 m hoch ausstößt. Die höchste Erhebung des Gletschers liegt bei 1666 m.

Die Fahrt zum Vulkan ist zunächst spannend, weil nicht bekannt ist, ob Wolken die Sicht behindern könnten. Vor Ort sieht das Wetter dann gut aus und eine gigantische graue Aschewolke schiebt sich lautlos nach Süden auf den Atlantik. Auch wenn die Aschewand von außen farbenfroher als von innen aussieht, fahren wir mitten hinein. Trotz Sonnenscheins wird es plötzlich rabenschwarz wie in der tiefsten Nacht, nur ohne Sterne. Ein beängstigender Eindruck. Wieder zurück im Tageslicht, färben die letzten Sonnenstrahlen die Asche in einen strahlenden orangenen Farbton.

Auf der Rückfahrt hält der Minibus zum Sonnenuntergang am 66 m tief stürzenden Wasserfall Seljalandsfoss. Früher befand sich hier die Atlantikküstenlinie. Heute gehe ich einmal um den gesamten Wasserfall herum.

in Hvolsvöllur Vestmannaeyjar (die Westmännerinseln) am Horizont am Eyjafjallajökull Fahrt in die Aschewolke Nacht am hellichten Tage der Vulkan speit
Hvolsvöllur Vestmannaeyjar Eyjafjallajökull in die Wolke Nacht bei Tag Vulkanwolke
Millionen Kubikmeter Asche Vulkanausbruch hautnah Seljalandsfoss am Abend hinter dem Wasserfall
massig Asche Vulkanausbruch Seljalandsfoss hinterm W.fall

Nach den ersten Reisetagen in Reykjavík, auf dem Golden Circle und am Eyjafjallajökull erreiche ich nun mit den Westfjorden persönliches Neuland. Es geht zunächst am Grábrók-Krater vorbei, später immer wieder am weiten Fjord Breiðafjörður entlang, und als Tagesfinale durch Schneefelder zum Wasserfall Dynjandi. An fünf kleineren Wasserfällen vorbei, stehe ich kurz danach zu Füßen des 100 m hohen und breit aufgefächerten Dynjandi (auch Fjallfoss). Das ist eine ganz besondere Perspektive auf die Wasserfallkaskaden.

auf dem Grábrók-Kraterrand am Breiðafjörður entlang Dynjandi breit aufgefächert Wasserfallkaskaden von unten Schneefeld in den gebirgigen Westfjorden
Grábrók-Krater Breiðafjörður Dynjandi Fall von unten Schneefeld
Gesamtübersicht Island

Die Westfjorde (Vestfirðir) sind eine sehr zerfurchte und bergige Halbinsel im Nordwesten Islands. Die Region liegt relativ isoliert (im Winter sind etliche der Schotterpisten gesperrt) und ist mit 0,8 Einwohnern pro km² sehr dünn besiedelt. Zum Vergleich: in Deutschland sind es 230 E/km², im dünnbesiedelsten Staat der Erde (Mongolei) 1,9 E/km². Erst seit kurzem gibt es eine durchgängig asphaltierte Straße von Reykjavík in den Hauptort Ísafjörður. Aufgrund der besonders unberührten Landschaften gewinnt der Tourismus in den Westfjorden allmählich an Bedeutung. Für die Fahrt von Reykjavík in einen der mittleren Fjorde (Dýrafjörður) brauchen wir mit Zwischenstopps rund zehn Stunden.

Nach zwei Nächten in Núpur im Dýrafjörður geht die Reise weiter in die südöstlichen Westfjorde zum Hótel Laugarhóll.

bei Núpur in den abgelegenen Westfjorden Mitte Mai auf dem Muyarfell schneebedeckte Westjorde Dýrafjörður kurz vor Mitternacht Hótel Laugarhóll mit heißer Quelle
Núpur Muyarfell Schneegipfel Dýrafjörður Laugarhóll

Für knapp zwei Wochen arbeite ich nun in einem internationalen Freiwilligen-Workcamp am Hótel Laugarhóll im Bjarnarfjörður (Bärenfjord) mit. Wir gestalten das Außengelände - besonders den Bereich an der warmen Quelle und am Bach - um. Übernachtung und Verpflegung sind für uns frei, dafür dürfen wir auch selbst kochen. Zuvor sind für das Workcamp bereits die Kosten für die Anreise und eine Verwaltungsgebühr angefallen. Aufgrund des Camps wird man also nicht reicher an Geld, sondern an Erfahrungen, Sprachpraxis, Horizont und Einblicken in den isländischen Alltag.

Am Hótel Laugarhóll befindet sich die warme Quelle Gvendarlaug. In ihr wurde schon in der Sagazeit gebadet. Weil sie heutzutage zu heiß geworden ist, lässt es sich umso besser in der felsigen Thermalquelle nebenan oder im naturwarmen Swimmingpool aushalten. Und weil es so angenehm ist, bin ich jeden Abend 2-3 Stunden im warmen Wasser. Auch mal bis Mitternacht, denn richtig dunkel wird es hier im Mai nachts auch nicht mehr. Ein Paradies!

felsige Thermalquelle mit 42°C warmer Bach während der Umbauarbeiten Wasser 42°C, Luft teils nur 0°C Thermalquelle in der Wildnis 32°C Natur-Freibad Entspannung nach der Arbeit
warme Quelle warmer Bach naturheiß Thermalquelle Freibad Hot Pool

Während der Freizeit bzw. am Wochenende sehen wir uns die rauhe Umgebung an. Unweit des Hotels donnert ein Fluss in eine Felsspalte hinunter und wäscht diese immer weiter aus. Weiter nördlich an der Ostküste der Westfjorde gelangen wir nach Krossnes zum nächsten warmen Freibad - mitten im Nichts, aber direkt am weiten Atlantik.

Fluss frisst sich durchs Gebirge Spalte am Bjarnarfjörður Wasserfall in die Schlucht Krossneslaug am Atlantik 500 m in die Höhe an der Kaldbaksvík
enge Schlucht Bjarnarfjörður Wasserfall Krossneslaug Kaldbaksvík

Was aber macht an einem körperlich anspruchsvollen Workcamp im eigenen Urlaub Spaß? Zum Beispiel unter freiem Himmel an frischer Luft Treibholz an der Atlantikküste zusammen zu tragen, das vor Jahrzehnten in Sibirien ins Polarmeer gelangt ist. Island selbst ist nämlich nahezu waldfrei. Dennoch gibt es viele Holzhäuser.

Nach der wundervollen Zeit des Workcamps mache ich mich auf den Weg zum Flughafen in Ísafjörður. Aufgrund der vielen Seitenarme des Ísafjarðardjúp dauern 25 km Luftlinie mal eben 100 Minuten im Auto. Die Nacht vorm Flug verbringe ich in Súðavík, wandere zuvor noch das Sauradalur bis zur Schneegrenze hinauf und möchte hier und jetzt sehr gerne einen Besuch im Arctic Fox Center (auf Isländisch Melrakkasetur) in Súðavík empfehlen.

Arbeiten für das Workcamp Treibholz aus Sibirien Ísafjarðardjúp und Seitenarme Schnee am Ende des Sauradalur Gerölllawine an der Bergflanke Súðavík und Drangajökull am Horizont
Workcamp Treibholz Ísafjarðardjúp Sauradalur Gerölllawine Súðavík

Von Ísafjörður (aufgrund der Lage zwischen den hohen Bergen angeblich einer der gefährlichsten Flughäfen der Welt) fliege ich über Reykjavík nach Akureyri im Norden der Insel. Von dort fahre ich mit dem Mietwagen am 12 m tiefen und 30 m breiten Goðafoss (Götterwasserfall) vorbei zum Mývatn (Mückensee), der im Schnitt nur gut 2 m tief ist.

Flughafen in Ísafjörður breiter Fall Goðafoss aufgesprungener Lavafels Mývatn - ein wahrer Mückensee Pseudokrater im Mývatn
Ísafjörður Goðafoss Lavafels Mückensee Pseudokrater

Am Mývatn treffe ich auf sehr vielseitige Lavaformen, wie z.B. auf die Tuffsteinformationen Dimmuborgir. Sie bildeten sich vor 2000 Jahren, als Lava sich über ein Sumpfgebiet ergoss und verdampfendes Wasser Teile der Lava erstarren ließ, während andere noch kochende Lava wieder abfloss.

Der Vulkanismus ist rings um den See noch sehr aktiv. Die letzten Ausbrüche am Vulkansystem des Zentralvulkans Krafla fanden bis 1984 statt. Es werden nicht die letzten Eruptionen gewesen sein. Auf dem Vulkanberg Námafjall spüre ich unter meinen Füßen die Wärme der Erde.

Dimmuborgir Eingangstor Kirkja (Kirche aus Lava) dunkle Burgen Tuffsteinformationen strahlende Schafe am See acht Jahre früher noch ein Badesee Blick vom Vulkan Námafjall
Dimmuborgir Kirkja Lava dunkle Burgen Leuchtschafe zu heiß Námafjall
Sehenswertes am Mývatn

Vulkanismus heißt auch Warmwasser. Die frühere Badegrotte Grjótagjá ist ein eindrucksvoller Beweis dafür. Aufgrund der angestiegenen Temperaturen (50°C) wird sie in vielen Reiseführern als nicht mehr zum Baden geeignet beschrieben. Im Sommer 2010 ist das Wasser im südlichen Höhlenteil jedoch bereits wieder badefreundlich. So auch angenehmerweise an dem Abend, an dem es ausnahmsweise mal etwas nieselt. Entlang der Höhle ist die Felsspalte erkennbar, die die eurasische von der amerikanischen Kontinentalplatte trennt. Baden zwischen den Kontinenten.

Höhleneingang zur Grjótagjá Naturwunder Grjótagjá warme Badegrotte neblige Thermalquelle
Höhleneingang Grjótagjá Badegrotte Thermalquelle

Der Krater Víti ist bei einem Ausbruch im Jahr 1724 entstanden. Heute befindet sich in ihm ein Maar, das seine türkise Farbe von Kieselsäurealgen hat. Auch im Jahr 1984 ist das Krafla-Vulkansystem wieder sehr aktiv gewesen, so dass sich die neue schwarze Lava sehr kontrastreich von der sonst eher gelb gefärbten Oberfläche des Vulkans Leirhnjúkur abhebt. Die Lavafelder sind auch 2010 noch warm und dampfen vor sich hin.

Der graue Explosionskrater Hverfjall (oder Hverfell) am Ostufer des Mývatn ist ein Tuffring, der vor gut 2500 Jahren entstand, als Magma auf Grundwasser traf und so zu einer gewaltigen Wasserdampfexplosion führte. Auch der Hverfjall gehört zum Vulkansystem der Krafla.

Víti von 1724 schwarze Lava von 1984 vom Krater Hófur Explosionskrater Hverfjall Tuffring nach Magma-Wasserdampfexplosion
Víti Krafla Hverfjall Tuffring

Vor meiner Islandreise habe ich etwas von einer Lava-Eishöhle namens Lofthellir gelesen. Sie wurde erst 1984 von einem Flugzeug im weitem Lavafeld Laxádalslava entdeckt. Diese relativ unbekannte Höhle möchte ich nun auch gerne sehen. An einem relativ trüben Tag leihe ich mir ein Fahrrad aus und fahre los, auf einer Lavapiste vorbei an der Kraterreihe Lúdentarborgir immer weiter weg von der Zivilisation: in der Hoffnung, dass es nicht gleich regnet, dass das klapprige Mietrad die Strapazen übersteht und dass ich die Höhle auch finde. Sie versteckt sich nämlich in einem riesigen Lavafeld. Eine genaue Karte habe ich nicht gefunden; nur ungefähre Lagebeschreibungen.

Als ich nach zwei Stunden Radfahrt das Lavafeld erreiche, endet die Piste. Nun beginnt die eigentliche Suche zu Fuß. Ich suche das kilometergroße Gelände ab. Alles sieht gleich aus. Nach einer Stunde kehre ich um. Und stolpere absolut zufällig doch noch über den Einstieg zur Höhle. Danke! Über eine Leiter gelange ich eine Etage tiefer, durch einen äußerst schmalen Schlupf dann in die totale Dunkelheit und Ruhe. Ich höre nur mein Blut, wie es durch mein Ohr gepumpt wird. Unglaublich, fast unfassbar ist es hier unten drin. Nach 45 min bin ich wieder draußen. Was für ein Erlebnis!

mit dem Rad auf Höhlensuche Einstieg zur Höhle schmaler Schlupf (mit dem Kopf quer durch) Eiszapfen wegen Dauerfrost gefrorener Wassereinbruch bunte Lavafarben und Kristalle
Hinfahrt Einstieg Schlupf Eiszapfen Wassereinbruch Lavafarben

Obwohl ich insgesamt eine Woche am Mývatn verbringe, reicht selbst diese Zeit noch nicht, alles zu entdecken. Ich fahre nun nach Nordosten, in das mächtige Tal Jökulsárgljúfur. Hier stürzt der Fluss Jökulsá á Fjöllum den Dettifoss hinunter. (Mehr Details zu diesem Wasserfall später.) Ich fahre auf scheinbar endlosen Schotterpisten immer weiter nach Norden, um auf der anderen Talseite wieder nach Süden zu drehen. Später am Vesturdalen sehe ich die Hljóðaklettar (Echofelsen) wie z.B. Karl und Kerling oder Kirkjan (Lavarosetten): alles sechseckiges Basaltgestein.

Dettifoss und Gischt wilde Landschaft Lavarosette Kirkjan aus sechseckigem Basaltgestein Hljóðaklettar Karl und Kerling menschenleere Schotterpisten Tafelvulkan Herðubreið am Horizont
Dettifoss wildes Land Lavarosetten Hljóðaklettar leere Piste Herðubreið

Weitere Möglichkeiten in der Region: vormittags steige ich auf den 771 m hohen Hlíðarfjall, schreibe mich ins Gipfelbuch ein und genieße den Blick auf den rund 500 m tiefer liegenden See und all die Krater und Lavafelder in der Umgebung. Abends gehe ich ins Mývatn Nature Baths, eine kleine Blaue Lagune.

Hlíðarfjall Südwestblick zum Mývatn Hlíðarfjall Südblick zum Hverfjall Mývatn Nature Baths
Hlíðarfjall Vulkanisches Nature Baths

Im ziemlich unwirklich erscheinendem Basalttal Jökulsárgljúfur fließt der Jökulsá á Fjöllum über drei benachbarte Stufen in Richtung Arktischer Ozean. Als erstes fällt das Wasser am Selfoss 10 m in die Tiefe. Der Wasserfall frisst sich immer weiter flußaufwärts. Nach einem Kilometer folgt der wasserreichste (energiereichste) Wasserfall Europas mit einer Breite von 100 m, einer Falltiefe von 45 m und einem mittleren Durchfluss von 193 m³/s: der Dettifoss. Viel Lärm und Gischt ist garantiert. Als drittes überwindet das Wasser nach zwei Kilometern den Hafragilsfoss mit seinen 27 m Falltiefe.

Selfoss als oberster der drei Wasserfälle 10 m tiefer Selfoss Dettifoss mit 100 m Breite Dettifoss tosend 45 m tief kraftvollster Wasserfall in Europa Hafragilsfoss 27 m tief
Selfoss 10 m tief Dettifoss 45 m tief kraftvoll Hafragilsfoss

Östlich des Mývatn befindet sich das Hochtemperaturgebiet Hverarönd. Es liegt am Fuße des aktiven Vulkans Námafjall. Über 200°C in 1000 m Tiefe lassen an der Erdoberfläche die verschiedensten Dampf- und Schlammquellen aktiv werden. Aus Solfataren schießt schwefeliger Dampf, aus Fumarolen meist nur Wasserdampf, während Schlammtöpfe vom Grundwasser gespeist werden und vor sich hin blubbern. Eine Vielzahl an Naturphänomenen.

Blick vom Námafjall auf Hverarönd Hochtemperatur im Boden heiße Schlammtöpfe Schwefeliges zersetzt das Gestein Blubbern und Zischen
Hverarönd Temperatur Schlammtopf Schwefeliges Blubbern

Nach dreieinhalb Wochen ist die Reise fast beendet. Ich fahre noch einmal am Goðafoss vorbei. Anschließend mache ich einen Halbtagesabstecher ins Hochland zum nördlichen Ende der Sprengisandur-Piste, denn dort befindet sich - nach meinem Geschmack - der schönste Wasserfall Islands, der Aldeyjarfoss. Der Fluss Skjálfandafljót schießt weiß schäumend über die schwarzen Basaltsäulen rund 20 m in die Tiefe. Ich liege direkt davor und spüre den tiefen Bass der Wasserkraft. Später verbringe ich am Abend vor meinem Nachtflug noch für ein paar Stunden in der Blauen Lagune - ein letztes Mal Thermalwärme genießen.

Island 2010 war eine perfekte Reise. Neben den Menschen, Landschaften und Naturphänomenen war auch das Wetter einzigartig. Laut Wetteramt war der Mai 2010 relativ warm und trocken, der Juni sogar außergewöhnlich warm und trocken, so dass viele neue Wetterrekorde aufgestellt worden sind. Rings um den Mývatn fiel im Juni nahezu kein Niederschlag, stattdessen war die Anzahl der Sonnenscheinstunden so hoch wie selten zuvor. Glück gehabt!

noch einmal zum Goðafoss Aldeyjarfoss 20 m tief schwarzer Basalt blauer Himmel weiße Gischt Blaue Lagune vorm Rückflug
Goðafoss Aldeyjarfoss schwarz blau weiß Blaue Lagune

» Linktipps

... meine erste Reise nach Island   2002

... mehr Land im Atlantik: Färöer   1998   2x Spitzbergen   2008    2010   und Schottland   2004
 

Endfassung vom 13.06.2011
© nordpaul.de - Fotos aus Nordeuropa
- nordpaul.de - Nordeuropa - Impressum - [english] -

Island Vulkan Eyjafjallajökull Westfjorde Mývatn Geysir heiße Quellen Lava Krater Wasserfall Thermalfeld Haukadalur Gullfoss Golden Circle Reykjavík Strokkur Vulkanausbruch Seljalandsfoss Dynjandi Laugarhóll Muyarfell Dýrafjörður Bjarnarfjörður Swimmingpool Workcamp Krossneslaug Treibholz Súðavík Arctic Fox Center Goðafoss Dimmuborgir Námafjall Tuffstein Krafla Grjótagjá Badegrotte Víti Hverfjall Leirhnjúkur Lofthellir Eishöhle Jökulsárgljúfur Dettifoss Hljóðaklettar Basalt Hlíðarfjall Selfoss Hafragilsfoss Hochtemperaturgebiet Hverarönd Schlammtopf Aldeyjarfoss

extern  HTML! CSS!