Faroe Islands and Gjógv 1998

Where do I go?

This website is about some relatively unknown islands in the North of the Atlantic. Most of the people just know them because of certain international football matches. I was there - at the Faroe Islands.

My 23 pictures with comments
in the large picture gallery ->
Picture gallery Faroe Islands and Gjógv 1998

What is Gjógv actually? -> Gjógv is an incomparably remote village at the Faroe Islands. More later at this page.

The Faroes (Føroyar = Sheep Islands) are a partly autonomous Danish group of islands in the North Atlantic between Iceland, Norway and Scotland. One third of the approximately 48,000 inhabitants are living in the capital Tórshavn. The landing-place of the "Norröna" (Smyril-Line) is in Tórshavn. In the summer time the ferry goes every week to Norway (Bergen), Denmark (Hanstholm) and Iceland (Seyðisfjörður). Some buses and ferries of the local transport company (SSL) are connecting the towns and settlements of nearly all the eighteen islands.

South of the capital Tórshavn is Kirkjubøur, the medieval center of the Føroyar. There you can see the ruin of the Magnus-Cathedral (built in the 13. Century) and a grass roof timber building which is more than 900 years old.

the 18 islands of the Faroes
in the harbour of Tórshavn View to the island Nólsoy Niels Finsen street in Tórshavn Magnus-Cathedral Old farm house in Kirkjubøur
Thor's port Tórshavn City center Cathedral Kirkjubøur

We went by bus from Tórshavn at the island Streymoy to the other large island Eysturoy. In Oyrarbakki a bridge connects these two largest islands of the Faroes. In the northwest of Eysturoy is the village Eiði and the little peninsula Eiðiskollur. At the other side of the sund you will see the rock Tjørnuvíksstakkur standing in the Atlantic in front of the mainland. Today tourists can take a former cableway for sheeps to reach this column.

the islands Streymoy und Eysturoy
Eiði is situated at the sund Tjørnuvíksstakkur
Eiði Tjørnuvíksstakkur

Finally some pictures and impressions of Gjógv, the village in the north of Eysturoy: Gjógv has approximately seventy inhabitants, a church with a cemetery, a post office (approx. 2x30 minutes open per day), a shop with food, a concrete element factory, a port, a small park, a helicopter place, a bus stop (running on working days two times and on Saturdays one time), a Youth Hostel with a campground and something more. But the 400 years old village is signed much more by the green mountains and the blue Atlantic.

at the border of Gjógv Backyards in Gjógv natural port of Gjógv View from the east to Gjógv View from the Tyril
Overview Gjógv Port complete Gjógv on the Tyril
the nature around Gjógv

In 1998 the Youth Hostel "Gjáargarður" with some rooms, inexpensive sleep boxes and a small campground at the mountain-slope was the only accomodation place in Gjógv that we saw. From Tórshavn there is almost daily a bus connection to Gjógv. The bus journey takes you about two hours and costs for one direction 50 DKK (7 EUR, 1998).

View to the Middagsfjall Campground at the Youth Hostel
Middagsfjall Campground

The forestless grass mountains around Gjógv invite you to many hiking tours: There are hiking pathes into the north and the west across some parts of the Gráfelli (856 meter high) down into the Ambadalur and farther to the Búgvin. The Búgvin is a 188 meter high rock column in front of the coast with thousands of breeding birds. In the east of Gjógv you can hike and climb on the Tyril or the somewhat higher Middagsfjall (601 meter high). From both mountains you have a great view down into the Funningsfjørður.

In a distance of Gjógv you find the highest mountain of the Faroe Islands: the Slættaratindur with 882 meter over sea level. It is not far away from the road to Eiði. If you have good clear weather you should see all the islands of the Faroes. But we had only clouds around the top.

View to the Tyril the islands Kalsoy and Kunoy in the Ambadalur Bird rock Búgvin Funningsfjórður treeless mountains
Tyril Kalsoy Ambadalur Búgvin Funningsfjord Mountains

Finally some information on the weather. Because of the Atlantic Ocean the average temperatures are well balanced: 3° Celsius in the winter and 11° Celsius in the summer time. The ALWAYS blowing wind can change the weather very quickly. For example after one gale night with a lot of rain the sun was shining at the next morning.

It was my intention to visit the Faroe Islands again at the latest 2008 (ten years later) - but I have had not enough time for that. I keep it in mind...

If you want you can correct my English because it is not my native language.
Just send me an e-mail: webmaster@nordpaul.de

» Links

... more Atlantic countries: 2x Iceland   2002    2010   2x Spitsbergen   2008    2010   and Scotland   2004
 

Final updated version: 2008/11/30
© nordpaul.de - Pictures of Northern Europe
- nordpaul.de - North Europe - Site Terms - [deutsch] -

Faroe Islands Gjógv Føroyar Tórshavn Kirkjubøur Eysturoy Tyril Middagsfjall Búgvin Funningsfjørður Slættaratindur Gjogv Torshavn

external  HTML! CSS!

Färöer und Gjógv 1998

Wohin geht es?

Diese Seite beschäftigt sich mit einer eher unbekannten Inselgruppe im Atlantik, die den meisten Menschen höchstens aus gewissen Fußball-Länderspielen bekannt ist. Ich war dort - auf den Färöern.

Alle 23 Bilder mit Kommentaren
in einer großen Bildergalerie ->
Bildergalerie Färöer und Gjógv 1998

Was ist eigentlich Gjógv? -> Gjógv ist ein unvergleichlich abgelegenes Dorf auf den Färöern. Mehr dazu später.

Die Färöer (Føroyar = Schafsinseln) sind eine teilautonome dänische Inselgruppe im Nord-Atlantik zwischen Island, Norwegen und Schottland. Von den rund 48.000 Einwohnern lebt ein Drittel in der Haupstadt Tórshavn. In Tórshavn legt auch die "Norröna" der Smyril-Line an. Das Schiff fährt im Sommer wöchentlich von und nach Norwegen (Bergen), Dänemark (Hanstholm) und Island (Seyðisfjörður). Etliche Buslinien und Fähren der hiesigen Verkehrsbetriebe (SSL) erschließen fast alle der achtzehn Inseln.

Südlich der Haupstadt Tórshavn liegt Kirkjubøur, das mittelalterliche Zentrum der Føroyar. Dort steht die Ruine der Domkirche aus dem 13. Jahrhundert und ein grasbegrüntes Holzhaus, das über 900 Jahre alt sein soll.

die 18 Inseln der Färöer
im Hafen von Tórshavn Blick nach Nólsoy Niels-Finsen-Gate in Tórshavn Magnuskathedrale altes Farmhaus in Kirkjubøur
Thor's Hafen Tórshavn im Zentrum Kathedrale Kirkjubøur

Wir sind mit dem Bus von Tórshavn, das auf der Insel Streymoy liegt, auf die andere große Insel, Eysturoy gefahren. In Oyrarbakki verbindet eine Brücke diese beiden größten Inseln miteinander. Im Nordwesten von Eysturoy liegt Eiði, von wo wir zum Eiðiskollur gewandert sind. Am anderen Ufer des Sundes ist dem Festland der Felsen Tjørnuvíksstakkur vorgelagert. Mit einer Seilbahn wurden dort früher Schafe hinüber transportiert - heute sind es gelegentlich Touristen.

die Inseln Streymoy und Eysturoy
Eiði liegt am Sund Tjørnuvíksstakkur
Eiði Tjørnuvíksstakkur

Nun aber endlich zu Gjógv, dem Dorf ganz im Norden von Eysturoy: Gjógv hat rund siebzig Einwohner, eine Kirche mit Friedhof, eine Poststation (ca. 2x30 Minuten pro Tag geöffnet), ein Geschäft mit Grundnahrungsmitteln, eine Betonelementefabrik, einen Hafen, einen kleinen Park, einen Hubschrauberlandeplatz, einen Busstop (werktags 2x und samstags 1x), eine Jugendherberge mit Campingmöglichkeit und anderes mehr. Viel mehr aber wird das 400 Jahre alte Dorf von den grünen Bergen und dem blauen Atlantik geprägt.

am Ortsrand von Gjógv Hinterhof in Gjógv natürlicher Hafen von Gjógv Blick von Osten auf Gjógv Blick vom Tyril
Überblick Gjógv Hafen ganz Gjógv vom Tyril
die Natur um Gjógv

In Gjógv stand im Sommer 1998 nur das Youth Hostel "Gjáargarður" mit etlichen Zimmern, preiswerten Schlafboxen und einem kleinen Zeltplatz am Berghang zum Übernachten zur Verfügung. Von Tórshavn fährt fast täglich ein Bus mit Umsteigen nach Gjógv und zurück. Die Fahrtdauer beträgt knapp zwei Stunden. Kosten für eine Richtung: 50 DKK (7 Euro, 1998).

Blick zum Middagsfjall Zeltplatz an der Jugendherberge
Middagsfjall Camping

Die waldlosen Grasberge rings um Gjógv laden zu vielen Wanderungen ein: Nach Norden und Westen führen Wanderpfade über einen Ausläufer des Gráfelli (856 Meter hoch) ins Ambadalur hinunter und weiter zum Búgvin. Der Búgvin ist eine 188 Meter hohe Felssäule vor der Küste, auf der tausende Vögel brüten. Im Osten von Gjógv geht es auf den Tyril oder den etwas höheren Middagsfjall (601 Meter hoch). Von beiden Bergen aus bietet sich eine wunderbare Sicht in den Funningsfjørður hinein.

Etwas weiter entfernt von Gjógv liegt der höchste Berg der Føroyar: der Slættaratindur mit 882 Metern über Meeresniveau. Er liegt an der Straße nach Eiði. Bei gutem klarem Wetter soll von ihm aus die gesamte Inselgruppe zu sehen sein. Als wir oben standen, waren wir leider von Wolken umhüllt.

Blick auf den Tyril die Inseln Kalsoy und Kunoy im Ambadalur Vogelfelsen Búgvin Funningsfjórður baumlose Berge
Tyril Kalsoy Ambadalur Búgvin Funningsfjord Berge

Abschließend noch eine kurze Wetterinfo. Der Atlantik sorgt für ausgeglichene Durchschnittstemperaturen: 3° Celsius im Winter und 11° Celsius im Sommer. Der Wind, der IMMER weht, kann das Wetter sehr plötzlich verändern. So schien zum Beispiel nach einer Orkannacht mit Platzregen am nächsten Tag wieder die Sonne.

Dies waren meine Eindrücke von den Färöer Inseln. Ursprünglich wollte ich in einer Zehnjahresfrist wieder auf einige der achtzehn Inseln reisen - dafür reichte die Zeit noch nicht, so dass ich mir die Tour für später aufgehoben habe.

» Linktipps

... mehr Land im Atlantik: 2x Island   2002    2010   2x Spitzbergen   2008    2010   und Schottland   2004
 

Aktualisierte Endfassung vom 30.11.2008
© nordpaul.de - Fotos aus Nordeuropa
- nordpaul.de - Nordeuropa - Impressum - [english] -

Färöer Gjógv Føroyar Tórshavn Kirkjubøur Eysturoy Tyril Middagsfjall Búgvin Funningsfjørður Slættaratindur Gjogv Torshavn

extern  HTML! CSS!